Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: light? high

  1. #1

    light? high

    Hi there , i have a 180 lt (40 gallon) full planted , with pressure co2 , and iEstimative Index ..
    I want to make like ada light stand , now i have 6 t8 ( 30watt) and 2 T5 ( 39watt) , total 258 watt for 8 hours.
    I am planing to add two Metal Halide of 150 watt each , and 4 t5 . I didnt have in the past Metal Halide, is too much for my aquarium ?

    The tank is not ready yet but to have an idea..


    By nicpapa at 2012-02-26

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,280
    Nice tank. But why more light? You will reach a point where you can't add enough CO2 to keep up with the demand. The consequence will be algae. You're already using almost as much as I use for a 180 gallon tank. And I can grow every plant I want. 4 T5's will provide you with all the light you need.
    Last edited by dutchy; 03-01-2012 at 09:28 PM.
    regards,
    dutchy.

    My 2011, 2012 and 2013 AGA aquascaping contest entries:
    http://www.barrreport.com/album.php?u=21013

  3. #3
    dutchy nice tank , now the light is on the hood of aquarium , if i make a light stand like Toms Barr http://www.barrreport.com/showthread...-another/page2 with T5 and its high 10 inches from tank then i lose the light right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,280
    Still enough light to grow every plant you want.
    regards,
    dutchy.

    My 2011, 2012 and 2013 AGA aquascaping contest entries:
    http://www.barrreport.com/album.php?u=21013

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Grand Forks, ND
    Posts
    964
    that is a nice tank, don't fix what isn't broken!

    I see nice growth in there, even of species that are "high light". I don't think you need to change a thing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    5,580
    Hi,

    To echo everyone else...

    Nice tank and no need to increase the lighting...Imo/ime.. Your tank is not THAT large even if suspending the lights...

    Yes, MH would be overkill and not needed. Again in my experience and opinion

    I have used MH over a 180 and the amount of PAR it produced was ridiculous and I ended up with it almost 40" ABOVE the surface of a 24" deep tank...that was 3x150 w with 6500k.

    Save the money and spend it on a PAR meter or more fish, or a larger filter, or better c02 hardware....You have plenty of light...
    Thanks,

    Gerry.

    'When something's not right, it's wrong'. Bob Dylan

    Current 220 scape

    http://www.barrreport.com/showthread...3219-220-video

  7. #7
    ok Thanks a lot , for your opinion , i leave the ligh that i have...

  8. #8
    Very nice layout.

Similar Threads

  1. Red plants without High Light and High co2
    By Rohanz21 in forum Aquatic Plant Species
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-15-2012, 07:04 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-02-2009, 01:10 AM
  3. Low/high light en EI
    By guy tillmans in forum Estimative Index
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2008, 09:55 PM
  4. Need high light? Not quite, here's an example
    By Tom Barr in forum General Plant Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 10:39 PM
  5. High light to low light die back?
    By 2wheelsx2 in forum General Plant Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-17-2007, 10:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •