Incomparable : An Experiment With Light

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incomparable : An Experiment With Light

I have this bee in my bonnet which has been buzzing into my ear that in a high lighted planted aquarium, when all the colour bands are present in high intensity, each of the plant specie will be satiated with energy by absorbing their favourite colour band, by producing the pigments to do so and thus being compelled to show their most colourful self.

So after more than a month of neglect while I corrected the lights and renewed all the wiring and CO2 supply; I have severely pruned away the rank growth, and done a water change.

The size of the tank is – 72” – 36” – 24” high
    The lights are 3 X 150W 10000K MH, + 2 X 150W 3000K MH, + 3 X 40W 6500K T8, + 2 X 40W “Azoo Tripower” (magenta coloured) T8

I am a bad photographer the attachment has been resized but I have not played with the colours.

How do you know it has anything to do with plant preference(eg, how might you measure this?) vs what your own eyes see as reflectance?

A red color light will highlight red colors, likewise, a blue light will do the same with blue coloration.

Most bulbs already have a mixture. CRI is often used:
    http://www.sizes.com/units/CRI.htm

As far as plants, they will and do adapt to a wide range of light colors, temps etc.
    This has been demonstrated many times in horticulture using a wide range of lighting types and natural sunlight. So starting with a mix is not really any advantage.

Rather, choosing a color that you personally prefer, has the aesthetics you like(1), and then go to things like PAR intensity (2) (not color temps or watts) and evenness of the spread of light over the area(3).

1 is measured by you, 2 and 3 by a PAR light meter.

If you cannot use a light meter/have one etc, then like nutrients and using test kits, you lack the test kits so you "guess" what the ppm's are and why they are that way.