new tank questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new tank questions

I am very new to all of this and am in the process of setting up a new 35G tank (36x15x16 -- sold to me as a 40G tank, but my math (.004329 x cu. in. says otherwise)) ... just waiting on a friend to help me complete the stand at this point. I have everything but the stand and have been really chomping at the bit to get my tank set up.

Anyway, I have a few questions that are hopefully minor to you all, but I have been having trouble getting a definitive answer, no matter how many threads I read.

1) Substrate. I am leaning toward flourite as a good all-purpose substrate. My only plan at the moment is to probably buy a plant "package" of several plants off of an internet site and see which plants I do and don't like -- I will grow them with the EI method, using canister CO2. I will get a ground cover or two (definitely HC and perhaps dwarf hairgrass and some mid and rear plants). As far as fish go, I am planning on getting some algae eaters (shrimp, snails, SAEs, Ottos -- insurance against algae attacks), and tetras and/or rasboras -- I want to keep the fish community small and simple, the main focus being the plants. Will flourite work well for me or would AS be better with my simple plan?

2) Lighting -- I bought a 96w kit from AHSupply... Every tank photo I have seen on this site has the lighting above the water, with no cover over the tank. Is this the best way to go for the plants? Someone told me that your light and reflector become dirty/damaged by evaporation if you do not have a cover over the tank. One thing I do not like about my glass cover is the one inch black hinge right thru the middle ... that must hurt the wpg, and I imagine the glass itself cuts down on wpg. If no cover over the tank, how high above the water should I keep the light? I do not mind replacing the reflector every couple of years, if necessary, but I would not want to replace it often.