Reactor vs. inline diffuser?

angus

Prolific Poster
Dec 21, 2013
Central Florida
I'm not sure if this topic should be posted here or in the CO2 forum, but since I'm a relative newbie to planted freshwater tanks (I'm a recently retired Marine Biology prof), I figure this is probably the most appropriate place.

I'm in the process of setting up an approximately ninety gallon, open-top tank with T5 HO pendant lighting (four - 48" bulbs that I intend to build into a wall. The tank will be moderately planted and dedicated primarily to a small shoal (8?) of Blue Pinoy Angelfish, along with some Otocinclus, panda corydoras, some suitable species of dwarf plecos, and some Malaysian trumpet snails.

As for plants, I'm partial to the various Amazonian sword species, but would also like a few floating plants, along with some manzanita driftwood with Java moss (?) attached to it with monofilament line. And I'll be using CaribSea Eco Complete (black) as a substrate.

I am disabled, so I want this system to be as maintenance and carefree as possible. The filtration system will consist of a Fluval FX6 canister filter driving a three-way manifold consisting of a Hydor inline heater, a Coralife 36W UV sterilizer, and some type of CO2 diffuser/reactor all in parallel. Which brings me to my main question. I had been looking at the Aqua Medic 1000 CO2 reactor until I stumbled across the GLA "Atomic Inline CO2 Diffuser - 16/22 mm. The cost difference between the two aside, which of the two would be the better option for me and my setup? I'm also looking at GLA's "Ultimate CO2 (Two Stage) " system to use in conjunction with the diffuser/reactor, and using the largest CO2 tank that will fit in my aquarium cabinet.

Also, these plans are not set in stone. I am wide open to any advice, and would be most appreciative of, any suggestions, criticisms, etc. that anyone would care to take the time and trouble to offer regarding any or all of my current plan.

Last edited by a moderator:

angus