Young Java Fern Leaf Tips

Paul G

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 28, 2011
Independence MO
Newer leaves of my Microsorum pteropus are turning glassy at the tips. I've seen this occassionally before, but just now I have quite a bit of this going on and would like to correct the problem before it gets any worse.

Any comments on what the problem may be?

Gbark

Guru Class Expert
Jun 15, 2009
This is not a problem, when they grow and are healthy they are translucent at the tips :)

Tom Barr

Founder
Staff member
Administrator
Jan 23, 2005
Yes, that is what the new growth should appear like.

Paul G

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 28, 2011
Independence MO
For real?! I've been keeping this plant for four years and seen this from time to time, but not always. Just now, seeing it A LOT made me wonder if I had some nutrient deficiency or disease issues. It looks alarming, but I am glad to know it's okay. Thanks.

Gerryd

Plant Guru Team
Lifetime Member
Sep 23, 2007
South Florida
Hi,

You are seeing healthy plant growth. It is the opposite of a deficiency...congrats...you should see it starting to get larger leaves and the more plantlets and such. When you look again after 2 weeks and has doubled in mass, you KNOW you are on the right track..

Once java of almost any variety IME has established itself, leave it alone and let it do its thing. You just keep providing those good conditions...

Got pics so we can be sure?

Does it look like this?

View attachment 3510

Last edited by a moderator:

Paul G

Lifetime Charter Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 28, 2011
Independence MO
When I first set this 210 up, I had some Java fern tied to a few pieces of wood in a 45 gallon that was maybe two years old and starting to get BBA really bad. I cleaned it up best I could and moved it into the 210 and it really took off. I had a nice driftwood grotto all across the midline of the 210 with big broad-leaf Java fern reaching up everywhere.